Go home

Blog!

(Sparse updates, all on a single page)

An interesting title

Written 2023-03-23

So, a few things have happened. Best of all I'm on HRT now, since 2023-03-18 (March 15th in Gregorian)! So, that's cool. And I'm getting my legal name changed on April 4th, which is also pretty exciting. I updated the CSS a bit, did a tad bit more work on the semi-hidden side-project I have on this domain (you can literally just check the updates to see it but, whatever lol)

I don't have much more else to say right now. Maybe later. Just felt the need to say those things.

The Absolute State of The Modern Web

Written 2023-02-02

Happy February everyone. This post will just be a vaguely unhinged and disjointed write-up (which, let's be honest all of my posts are) about some thoughts I have on the internet right now. That's it, really.

Now I could go on and on for paragraphs about how the internet is a double-edged sword, allowing for ease of communication and spread of knowledge at levels unprecedented and how that's impacted the world politically and whatnot and I might go on about that eventually but the main thing I wanna talk about at this moment is web design and the depersonalization of the web. Every day there's some new standard or new framework or something introduced that's supposed to make websites have features they didn't before or some new exploit for massive corporations to skullfuck our right to privacy evermore or something like that. The way modern websites are built today makes it borderline impossible for someone to make one from scratch without taking a course or two in frontend development or something like that. And with that, WYSIWYG sites like Squarespace and Wix and whatnot become evermore prominent and the web becomes evermore homogenized. On top of that, SEO and the mobile ecosystem in particular has, in my opinion, done nigh irreperable damage to the surface web. I like Neocities because it allows creatives to have a platform where they can put stuff together themselves. Sure, not everyone is interested in coding, even this site is made with a modified CSS theme I found online, but there's still a personal touch to websites here that massive corporations just cannot compete with.

Honestly I think my issues with the modern internet are just my issues with capitalism, come to think of it.

Go to top

The Bag Chronicles

Written 2023-01-06

The past couple of days have had some mildly interesting developments that served as a sizeable shake-up in my life.

In the last post, I mentioned I couldn't find my bag. That very same day, while walking to the bus home, I realized why that was.

On Sunday, I had gone out with my brother to a local frozen yogurt store, and happened to accidentally leave my bag there, at one of the outside tables. A classmate of my brother's happened to be in the area, and spotted the abandoned bag as we walked away from it. He tried calling us over, but because of a storied past with him as a troublemaker, we ignored him. It took me a solid 2 days to realize what had happened. When I hopped off the bus, I quickly made my way to the store, where I asked if someone had left a bag there, hoping that the kid or someone else had benevolently brought it inside. No luck. In a frenzied state, I walked back home, knowing full well that I had my wallet in there along with some other important personal articles.

The next day, I went there again, explained what happened and asked about any security footage that might've saw what happened. Unfortunately the only person working there at the time didn't have access to the security footage, but she contacted the manager who contacted some other higher-up who asked to give them my number in case they saw anything. I did so and scurried home. I went back the next day, asking again due to a lack of a follow-up, where they confirmed that they only had cameras on the inside and that it didn't see anything. The person working there then suggested that I could ask places near if they had any outside cameras that I could check.

I walked back and forth down that section of the marketplace, looking for any cameras pointing outside that could've potentially seen what had happened. A man seeing my investigative state asked me if I was looking for something. I explained I was looking for cameras that could've seen something I lost some days ago, he then pointed out the parking lot cameras, and suggested that maybe I could find out who was responsible for those. Thanking him, I walked off and wandered around the marketplace as I looked online for who managed the property. After a few duds, I found the right company and called them right there on the spot. Unfortunately, however, they told me they couldn't do anything without a police report.

After begrudgingly filing the report as I walked back home, I ran into my brother who happened to be coming home from school late. I had already asked him to ask the kid if he took my bag, which he denied saying he just left it there. However, this kid has a history of stealing people's stuff to mess with them, so I decided to look into that lead as well, if even just to rule it out. I called the middle school they both went to and explained to the principal the situation and requested for the contact information of the kid's parents. While he couldn't give me said information, he did agree to contact the parents about it the next day, that day being today.

This post is kind of a mess. I just needed somewhere to write about it, I suppose. At this point I don't even care that much about finding the bag, I would just like some form of closure.

Go to top

Happy New Year!

Written 2023-01-03

It's gonna be a fun month or two having to remind myself to write 3 instead of 2. But that aside, wee new year which... doesn't really mean much in the grand scheme of it all, but we might as well divide cycles into smaller chunks, yeah?

Actually working on the website has actually been pretty fun now that I got it looking a way I'm happy with. I did some work on the main part of it but right now I'm working on a larger project that'll be hosted here but mostly disconnected to the whole "Auran's Rabbit Hole" branding. It's a fansite for White Town, a band that I got into admittedly somewhat recently but it's been really fun to do research on them. They're most known for their 1996 hit "Your Woman" but there's a lot that came before and after that that I think deserves attention in its own right. I've been talking to Jyoti Mishra (the sole member of the "band") and it's been a treat serving as a kind of documentarian over the past couple days.

In unrelated real life related news, I recently cobbled together a "system" that I could probably use for busking or something, involving a battery-powered multi-effects pedal with a cab sim and a Bluetooth speaker connected with an aux cable. Weather's too shit to test it any time soon but who knows. Maybe I'll get some use out of it.

I couldn't find my bag today before having to hop on the school bus but today I mostly have to use my Chromebook (which I leave in my locker anyways) so it wasn't that big of a deal. My wallet was in there though so I'll have to either take the actual school bus or borrow money from someone, so that's fun.

Don't really have much else to report at the moment, but should this momentum continue 2023 will be Year of the Neocities Page... or something like that. It's also year of the rabbit so that's fun. Not really the spiritual or superstitious type, but who knows. Farewell!

Go to top

An actual update woah!

Written 2022-13-27

Been too long since one of these. Quite a bit to talk about. Not as much as I'd like but I digress.

I'm 18 now so that's fun. Reading back at a lot of these is kinda cringe rather unsurprisingly.

On the topic of cringe, I decided to try once more to get the website looking decent and I think I got it in a state I'm kinda happy with. It's simple enough, should be easy to tweak later if I wanna. I've also decided to relegate the blog to a single page which I'll gradually update. Like Time Cube but slightly less insane. I've also decided to adopt the 13-month calendar system. Gregorian is cringe. You can click here for more information about it.

Now that I got the page in a form I'm happy with I might actually try my hand at putting something vaguely resembling content here. Probably not! We'll see.

Go to top

More Detatched Ramblings from the Massed Gadgets of Bunniness

Written May 12th, 2022

For the negative two people who have checked out this site in the past couple months, you might've noticed I essentially got rid of all of the CSS on the site. Frankly the idea of working on this site has been kind of daunting and I decided that I might want to strip the site down to its bare basics for now, even if just to get accoustumed to some sort of workflow for it. I still haven't found said workflow, but I digress.

In other news like 2 weeks ago I finally heard 1000 gecs after putting it off for a while. It's a shorter album that I expected it to be (not that that's a good or a bad thing), so I decided "fuck it" and just went for it. The more I heard it the more it went from a 7 to a 10. Holy fucking shit I've been missing out. I liked money machine and stupid horse sure but the rest is fucking great, even the weird sound collages I Need Help Immediately and gecgecgec.

It's been a couple months since I've slowly tried to detach myself from Google and that type of shit but all I really managed to do so far is migrate from Gmail to Protonmail. Which is a start, I guess. What's shit is that there's not really any good alternatives for YouTube. Odysee is full of weird conspiracy theorist shit and bigoted right-wing content and whatnot. YouTube has a monopoly on the user-generated contentsphere (long-form, at least) and there's not much one can do about that. Despite me using the same couple of sites most days I still kinda wish I could be more invested in this whole decentralized indie web thing. It seems really cool but I just can't muster up the time, energy and motivation to properly put together a website. Maybe eventually. Maybe I should just write here more and see if that drives me to work on it. Time will tell.

Kendrick's dropping tomorrow so that's neat.

How the fuck do I make a sidebar? I've been trying basically since I started this site but I can't figure it out for the life of me. Specifically because I'm trying to do it with an iframe so I can only update it once and have it reflect on the whole site if need be. I should probably ask someone competent about that.

Go to top

Still Alive

Written March 25th, 2022

Haven't touched this in a bit lol

I'll get to working on this site sooner or later maybe. I'm really not sure. I do like the whole building websites thing, but I've just been lacking ideas and inspirations for this site specifically. I'm still not even 100% on the layout, let alone what content to add.

But at least I'm still alive. So that's good.

Go to top

Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Written February 16th, 2022

I have made some changes to the site. Completely new layout, still using iframes for the sidebar. I have some content ideas in mind but I really want to fully flesh out the backend of the site before I really do anything. I took the background images from sadgrl's site. Her website is what drove me to make my own web page, so I'd like to thank her for the inspiration, if she ever sees this.

This is the part where I post some sort of stream-of-consciousness personal update for the grand total of zero people that care. Been pretty tired. Better than I was a while ago, but I feel like a desperately need a shower. Gonna take one as soon as I get home. I'm typing this in my web programming class. Got a minute before the bell goes off. Might type more in another class, I dunno. I should work on this site at home as well. I feel a bit gross right now, don't know why. Must be why I want a shower. I just wanna go home. Yesterday was a blur and so was the day before. I might skip class tomorrow to spend time with mom. Although there is the winter break and one of her days off does coincide with one of the days we have off... we'll see.

I listened to King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard's Milwaukee and London 2019 sets today. They're pretty good. I always like when they play Head On/Pill. The Adelaide version is better though.

I gotta go, might type more later. Farewell!

EDIT: I can't wait for Eric Clapton to die!

Go to top

The First One

Written February 11th, 2022

Hello! I don't really know what to say here. I'm still figuring out how I'm to develop this site and what to even put in it and what have ya, but a blog-type thing seems to be a good first place. I'm sure I'll figure out a more practical system for this eventually, but for now I'm just manually creating pages and linking them to the blog section. I'm sure there's much better ways to go about it, but until I figure out said ways, it'll do. I am deliberately trying to avoid using any sort of fancy framework or static site generator or anything like that because I want complete control over what goes on this website and how it does. The internet has become too clustered with people using these large sites like Twitter and whatever else. I want this site to reflect my personal (albeit very amateur) knowledge of web design. I'm currently taking a web programming class in my school, so that's helped with me learning the basics I know now.

I'm writing this in class. Had like three tests today, definitely failed at least one of them. I'm gonna hate these early blog posts some months from now. Bell rings in less than a minute. That's all for now I guess. I'll type more later. Farewell!

Go to top